NORDIC BAROQUE SCENE LAUNCH EVENT

25th OF AUGUST 2021


Featuring the Nordic Baroque Scene Orchestra, Dame Emma Kirkby, Lars Ulrik Mortensen, Stefan Herheim, Anders Dahlin & Tuuli Lindeberg.

Support the NBS with a voluntary ticket at: www.fibo.fi/shop

Helsinki Event live

SEMINAR PROGRAM

11:00 (EET) / 10:00 (CET): Opening of the event

  • Opening words and presentation of the day’s program
  • Music performance by the NBS ensemble


11:30 (EET) / 10:30 (CET): Nordic Baroque Scene – Nordic Cooperation Seminar

  • Presenting the NBS project partners: Mari Giske (Barokkanerne), Nikolaj Fine de Licht (Coco), Olof Larsson (DBE) & Pauliina Fred (FiBO)
  • Info on the NBS objectives and upcomin projects: Laura Kajander (FiBO)
  • About Aria Borealis Bodø by Rasmus Adrian (CEO of Stormen, Bodø)
  • Nordic institutes on project funding: Nordic Culture Point and Nordisk Kulturfond


13:00 (EET) / 12:00 (CET): Break

14:00 (EET) / 13:00 (CET): Why the need for Area Borealis Bodø – panel discussion

  • Moderated by: Torun Torbo (Barokkanerne), Nikolaj de Fine Licht (Coco/NBS), jury members: Dame Emma Kirkby, Stefan Herheim & Lars Ulrik Mortensen


15:00 (EET) / 14:00 (CET): Break

15:30 (EET) / 14:30 (CET): The special characteristics of Baroque singing

  • The special characteristics of baroque singing and the agility of the baroque music genre
  • Discussion: Anders Dahlin & Tuuli Lindeberg with Dame Emma Kirkby


EVENING CONCERT

19:00 (EET) / 18:00 (CET): Aria Borealis Concert
Nordic Baroque Scene Orchestra, soprano Tuuli Lindeberg & tenor Anders Dahlin

PROGRAM:

  • Flute Preludium – Folksongs from Finland, Norway and Sweden (Hanna Haapamäki, recorder, Torun Torbo, flute & Pauliina Fred, flute and recorder)
  • Opening words, Nikolaj de Fine Licht on the behalf of Nordic Baroque Scene
  • Arcangelo Corelli (1653-1713): Concerto grosso D major (op. 6 no. 4)
  • Georg Friedrich Händel (1685-1759): Anders: Waft her, Angels, through the skies (Jephtha, HWV 70) 4 min, G-dur (soloist: Anders Dahlin)
  • Recit “E pur così un giorno” & aria “Piangerò la sorte mia” (Giulio Cesare in Egitto, HWV 17) 7 min, D-dur / E-dur (soloist: Tuuli Lindeberg)
  • As steals the morn (L’Allegro, il Penseroso ed il Moderato, HWV), B-dur (soloists: Tuuli Lindeberg & Anders Dahlin)
  • Speech: Emma Kirkby
  • Georg Philipp Telemann (1681-1767): Wassermusik (Hamburger Ebb’ und Fluth, TWV 55:C3)