Nordic Baroque Scene launch event info and schedule

Wed 25.8.2021
11:00 – 16:30 (EET) NBS Seminar, Helsinki (streamed here at nordicbaroque.com)
19.00 – 20.15 (EET) Music Centre, Helsinki


NORDIC BAROQUE SCENE – LAUNCH EVENT

The top international baroque performers will be staring at the Nordic Baroque Scene’s launch event, held at the Helsinki Music Centre. The event will serve an inspirational cocktail of baroque and kick off an international singing competition. There will be seminars, panel discussions as well as a stunning Aria Borealis evening concert!

Nordic Baroque Scene (NBS) is a collaboration project by four Nordic baroque orchestras, Barokkanerne from Norway, Concerto Copenhagen (CoCo) from Denmark, Drottningholm Baroque Ensemble from Sweden and Finnish Baroque Orchestra (FiBO) from Finland. The aim of the project is long term development of the Nordic baroque music scene and simultaneously create new limitless art experiences. The main coordinator of the project is Finnish production company Teatro Productions.

The launch event of the project, which is open to the public, will be held on the 25th of August 2021 at the Helsinki Music Centre. The event will comprehensively presents the Nordic Baroque Scene project as well as the special characteristics of baroque music and the traditions of Nordic vocal music through seminars and panel discussions. The panel discussions of the event will be attended by e.g. Dame Emma Kirkby, harpsichordist and artistic director of Concerto Copenhagen Lars Ulrik Mortensen and opera director Stefan Herheim. The day will culminate at the Aria Borealis evening concert, where the project’s own orchestra will perform for the first time with the soloists soprano Tuuli Lindeberg and tenor Anders Dahlin.

A new international baroque singing competition will also be launched at the event called Aria Borealis Bodø and it will be produced in collaboration with the Stormen Concert Hall in Bodø, Norway. In June 2022, Stormen will host a festival focusing on the Nordic music tradition, and in this festival the first Aria Borealis Bodø singing competition will play a significant role. The competition will be held every two years and in 2024 Bodø will be the European Capital of Culture. Additional information about the competition will be revealed at the launch event and the official website will be published on the same day.


SEMINAR PROGRAM (streamed here at nordicbaroque.com)

11:00 (EET) / 10:00 (CET): Opening of the event
– Opening words and presentation of the day’s program
– Music performance by the NBS ensemble

11:30 (EET) / 10:30 (CET): Nordic Baroque Scene – Nordic Cooperation Seminar
– Presenting the NBS project partners: Mari Giske (Barokkanerne), Nikolaj Fine de Licht (Coco), Olof Larsson (DBE) & Pauliina Fred (FiBO)
– Info on the NBS objectives and upcomin projects; Laura Kajander (FiBO)
– About Aria Borealis Bodø by Rasmus Adrian (CEO of Stormen, Bodø)
– Nordic institutes on project funding: Nordic Culture Point and Nordisk Kulturfond

13:00 (EET) / 12:00 (CET): Break

14:00 (EET) / 13 (CET): Why the need for Aria Borealis Bodø – panel discussion
– Moderated by: Torun Torbo (Barokkanerne), Nikolaj de Fine Licht  (Coco/NBS), jury members: Dame Emma Kirkby, Stefan Herheim & Lars Ulrik Mortensen

15:00 (EET) / 14:00 (CET): Break

15:30 (EET) / 14:30 (CET): The special characteristics of Baroque singing
– The special characteristics of baroque singing and the agility of the baroque music genre
– Discussion: Anders Dahlin & Tuuli Lindeberg with Dame Emma Kirkby


EVENING CONCERT, HELSINKI MUSIC CENTRE GRAND HALL (Helsinki Music Centre)

19:00 (EET) / 18:00 (CET): Aria Borealis Concert
Nordic Baroque Scene Orchestra, soprano Tuuli Lindeberg & tenor Anders Dahlin
The program will consist of e.g. Corelli, Handel, Telemann


PROGRAM:
Flute Preludium – Folksongs from Finland, Norway and Sweden
Hanna Haapamäki, recorder
Torun Torbo, flute
Pauliina Fred, flute and recorder

Opening words: Nikolaj de Fine Licht

Arcangelo Corelli (1653-1713):
Concerto grosso D major (op. 6 no. 4)

Georg Friedrich Händel (1685-1759):
Waft her, Angels, through the skies (Jephtha, HWV 70), G-dur
Anders Dahlin, tenor

Recit “E pur così un giorno” & aria “Piangerò la sorte mia” (Giulio Cesare in Egitto, HWV 17) D-dur / E-dur
Tuuli Lindeberg, soprano

As steals the morn (L’Allegro, il Penseroso ed il Moderato, HWV), B-dur
Tuuli Lindeberg, soprano and Anders Dahlin, tenor           

Speech: Dame Emma Kirkby

Georg Philipp Telemann (1681-1767):
Wassermusik (Hamburger Ebb’ und Fluth, TWV 55:C3)

Share:

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin